Back to guidance

IUCN Global Standard for NbS


The IUCN Global Standard for NbS aims to support users to improve the effectiveness, sustainability and adaptability of their NbS interventions, and to add credibility when speaking to investors, donors and other stakeholders. It consists of 8 Criteria and 28 Indicators. For example, Criterion 1 focuses on identifying the societal challenge addressed by the NbS, and Criteria 3, 4 and 5 aim to ensure it is environmentally sustainable, socially equitable and economically viable.

Each criterion has 3 or 4 accompanying indicators and an example case study. The standard is intended to be self-assessed, and there are national hubs and user groups to build a learning community of NbS participants.


Guidance type/project stage

  • General
  • Governance
  • Monitoring and assessment
  • Planning
  • Principles and standards


  • Any ecosystem

Challenges addressed

  • Any challenges

Source | IUCN

Visit source website